posadriver.blogg.se

Why you may want to stop telling your kids to stop playing video games
Why you may want to stop telling your kids to stop playing video games













why you may want to stop telling your kids to stop playing video games why you may want to stop telling your kids to stop playing video games

It doesn’t depress me that my kids like this stuff. I now look at screen time as a fact of life. Click here for our FREE mini-course How to Be a Positive Parent. The following strategies worked.Įditor’s Note: Being able to look beyond the immediate transgressions to focus on the bigger picture is an important aspect of positive parenting. I needed a positive approach to video games, to screen time in general, a term meaning any time spent in front of a screen: games, movies, or movies of other kids playing games. Laptops, iPad, iPod, smart phones, Xbox–this stuff isn’t going anywhere. I had to face facts: the world was against me in this fight. If anything, the deprivation increased the appetite. It didn’t make the desire for video games go away. I took it hard, the day I finally admitted to myself that what most inspires my nine-year-old son is a video game.Ĭertain we were on the road to laziness, brain atrophy, and obesity, I went through a long spell of helicopter parenting: policing, nagging, and threatening. Who would sooner build worlds in Terraria than accompany you to the neighborhood barbecue? Do you live with a child obsessed with video games?Ī kid who’d rather play Minecraft than ball?















Why you may want to stop telling your kids to stop playing video games